Approche logique aux disques et à l'OS l'interface 13H INTERNE et les prolongements 13H INTERNES

 
Data Recovery PRO DATA DOCTOR

Home | Order Online | Downloads | Contact Us | Software Knowledgebase

it | es | pt | fr | de | jp | kr | cn | ru | nl | gr


 

Sample Chapters from book DATA RECOVERY WITH AND WITHOUT PROGRAMMING by Author Tarun Tyagi

Chapitre 3

Approche logique aux disques et à l'OS

Le disque dur ne peut pas courir son matériel il logiciel de base d'individu et de besoins deux pour courir ses opérations, le BIOS (système de base d'entrée-sortie) et Le DOS (ou logiciel d'exploitation). Le système d'exploitation à disques ne parle pas directement au matériel de l'ordinateur et du disque dur mais il a besoin du BIOS dans l'intervalle. C'est pourquoi le BIOS a pris un rôle important dans l'ordinateur.

BIOS

Le travail ordinaire du BIOS est de fournir une interface standard entre le matériel ou les dispositifs reliés à l'ordinateur et au DOS. Le BIOS de système est l'interface de bas-niveau entre le matériel de votre système et le logiciel qui fonctionne là-dessus. Il a plusieurs rôles significatifs tels que lesquels il joue dans la commande de l'accès aux disques durs

  • Routines d'interruption de BIOS
  • Détection et configuration de disque dur
  • Appui de mode d'interface de disque dur

Pour assurer l'interopérabilité de divers produits de matériel et de logiciel, le BIOS du système est conçu en fonction les besoins de son matériel, et fournit une manière standard de laisser le logiciel adressant le matériel. Ceux-ci s'appellent les services de BIOS et sont employés par des beaucoup de logiciel d'exploitation et programmes d'application. Ils fournissent une interface uniforme au disque dur, ainsi les applications n'ont pas besoin de savoir parler à chaque type de disque dur individuellement.

Des disques durs standard d'IDE/ATA sont configurés dans le BIOS en utilisant de divers arrangements de BIOS. Les programmes modernes de BIOS peuvent détecter les disques modernes d'IDE/ATA pour déterminer ces paramètres et pour les configurer automatiquement. Les commandes de BIOS que des types de modes d'interface peuvent être employé avec le disque dur, fonctionnant avec le jeu de puces de système sur la carte mère et l'autobus du système entrée-sortie.

L'interface 13H INTERNE et les prolongements 13H INTERNES

L'interface primaire au BIOS a été l'interruption 13H de logiciel qui est généralement connue en tant que 13H INTERNE, où les stands INTERNES pour l'interruption et le 13H est le numéro 19 dans la notation hexadécimale.

Nous apprendrons et discuterons l'utilisation des interruptions en programmant en détail dans la phase de programmation de ce livre. L'interface d'Int13H soutient beaucoup de différentes commandes qui peuvent être données au BIOS, qui les transmet alors au disque dur. L'interruption 13H incluent les la plupart de nous charge doit exécuter avec le disque tel que la lecture, l'écriture, le formatage etc.

L'utilisation et le travail avec Int13H exige du programme de appel de savoir les paramètres spécifiques du disque dur, et fournit le chef, le cylindre et le secteur exacts adressant aux routines pour permettre l'accès de disque.

Le BIOS emploie la géométrie pour le disque dur pendant qu'il est établi dans le programme d'installation de BIOS. L'interface d'Int13H assigne 24 bits avec les spécifications de la géométrie de la commande, cassée vers le haut de comme suit :

  • 10 bits pour le nombre de cylindre, ou un total de 1.024 cylindres.
  • 8 bits pour le nombre principal, ou un total de 256 têtes.
  • 6 bits pour le secteur numérotent, ou un total de 63 secteurs.


Ainsi le nombre possible maximum des secteurs dans le disque peut être

= 1024 * 256 * 63
= 16515072

Car nous voyons ici que l'interface 13H INTERNE peut soutenir des disques contenant jusqu'à 16515072 secteurs avec 512 bytes par secteur. Ainsi la taille maximum de disque peut être,

= 16515072 * 512
= 8455716864 Bytes
~ 8.456 GB

Ainsi l'interface 13H INTERNE peut soutenir la taille de disque approximativement jusqu'à 8.456 gigaoctets (ou contre-clavette 7.875).

Aujourd'hui la plupart des utilisateurs d'ordinateur emploient les disques durs qui sont beaucoup plus grandes dans la capacité puis 8 gigaoctets qui est pourquoi, l'interface 13H INTERNE est finalement arrivée à la fin de son utilité dans les systèmes informatiques modernes et a été remplacée avec une plus nouvelle interface appelée les prolongements d'INT 13H cependant 13H qu'INTERNE peut encore être employé par le DOS et quelques autres logiciels d'exploitation plus anciens, et pour d'autre compatibilité.

Prolongements 13H internes

C'est vraiment une histoire intéressante qui quand l'interface 13H INTERNE a été développée, personne comptent jamais obtenir la taille de 8 gigaoctets dans le disque dur. Toutefois aujourd'hui nous pouvons sentir un disque dur de 8 gigaoctets beaucoup plus petit dans la capacité, même pour le PC de l'utilisateur à la maison.

La norme plus ancienne a une limitation importante qu'elle emploie 24 bits d'adresser l'information et pendant que telles peuvent seulement manipuler les commandes qui contiennent jusqu'à 16515072 secteurs avec 512 bytes par secteur qui rapporte une capacité maximum de 8.456 gigaoctets (ou de contre-clavette 7.875).

Ainsi le problème était d'élargir la voie d'accès de 24 bits à quelque chose de plus grand mais il n'était pas possible d'augmenter l'interface existante de BIOS d'INT13H parce que si nous essayons de faire ce beaucoup d'un matériel plus ancien et le logiciel cesserait de fonctionner. Et pratiquement, il n'y a aucun espoir d'obtenir l'endroit respectable en informatique avec beaucoup d'un matériel plus ancien et d'un logiciel ne fonctionnant pas avec votre développement.

Par conséquent une nouvelle interface a été développée pour remplacer Int13H. Ces routines s'appellent les prolongements d'Int13H. Cette nouvelle interface emploie 64 bits au lieu de 24 bits pour adresser et permet une taille maximum d'entraînement dur de 9.4 * 10 21 bytes qui est de 9.4 trillion de gigaoctets.

Nous apprendrons l'utilisation de tous les deux, le 13H INTERNE et les prolongements 13H INTERNES dans la section de programmation de ce livre. Il y a un certain nombre d'autres limitations de taille qui ont eu lieu en jours plus tôt. Certaines des limites logiques et physiques populaires ont été décrites ci-dessous :

La limite de 2.1 gigaoctets

On a observé cette limite de taille dans quelques bios plus anciens qui assignent seulement 12 bits pour le champ dans la RAM de CMOS qui donne le nombre de cylindres. Par conséquent ce nombre peut être à la plupart des 111111111111B (nombre binaire 12-Bit possible maximum) qui est équivalent à 4095. De cette façon la taille maximum de disque avec 16 têtes, qui peuvent être accédées, sera :

= 4095 * 16 * 63 * 512 Bytes
= 2113413120 Bytes are accessible.

La limite de 33.8 gigaoctets

Cette barrière de taille de disque dur a été notée début 1999. Les grands disques rapportent 16 têtes, 63 secteurs/voie et 16383 cylindres. Beaucoup de bios calculent un nombre réel de cylindres en divisant toute la capacité par 16*63.

Pour des disques plus en grande partie que 33.8 gigaoctets ceci mènent à un certain nombre de cylindres plus en grande partie que 65535. Dans ce cas particulier, quelques versions du BIOS de récompense ne peuvent pas manipuler les commandes qui ont plus de 65.535 cylindres. Maintenant le BIOS se brise ou accroche. Depuis le disque dur les paramètres emploient habituellement 16 têtes et 63 secteurs, ceci établit à une capacité d'environ 33.8 gigaoctets ou de contre-clavette 31.5 avant que l'ennui se produise.

La solution est d'améliorer le BIOS ou on peut employer un pullover pour faire le disque sembler plus petit.

 

page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20


page 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35

Next page

 

Chapter 2

 
Previous page

page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22

 

© Copyright 2002-2005 DataDoctor.Biz

Benefits of online data recovery | Pen Drive Memory Stick Data Recovery Software | Memory Card Data Recovery Software | iPod Data Recovery Software | Digital Camera Data Recovery Software | Removable Media Data Recovery Software | Site Submission Services | Windows Data Recovery Software | FAT Data Recovery Software | NTFS Data Recovery Software | Data Recovery Training | Data Recovery Services | Data Recovery Education Material | Data Recovery Book | Custom Software Development | Offshore Software Development | Microsoft .NET Development | Java / J2EE Development | Wireless / Mobile Application Development | Database Solutions | Website Design | Website Development | Website Promotion | Mobile Website Design | Website Testing | Graphic Design | Data Recovery company India | Data Recovery Canada | Data Recovery United States | Data Recovery United Kingdom | Website Designer Canada | Website Designer United States | Website Designer United Kingdom | Website Designer Outsourcing

Home | Contact us | Downloads | Services | Resources | Terms and conditions | Site map

Website Data Recovery | recuperación de Datos | Récupération de données | Datenrettung | Recupero dati | データ復旧 | 데이터 복구 | 数据恢复 | Восстановление данных | De terugwinning van gegevens | Ανάκτηση δεδομένων
Sitemap Site map1 2 3 4 | Spanish1 2 3 | French1 2 3 | German1 2 3 | Italian1 2 3 | Portuguese1 2 3 | Japanese1 2 3 | Korean1 2 3 | Chinese1 2 3 | Russian1 2 3 | Dutch1 2 3 | Greek1 2 3
Data Recovery Book English | Spanish | French | German | Italian | Portuguese | Japanese | Korean | Chinese | Russian | Dutch | Greek

Logical Approach to Disks and OS The INT 13H Interface and INT 13H Extensions

 
Data Recovery PRO DATA DOCTOR

Home | Order Online | Downloads | Contact Us | Software Knowledgebase

it | es | pt | fr | de | jp | kr | cn | ru | nl | gr


Sample Chapters from book DATA RECOVERY WITH AND WITHOUT PROGRAMMING by Author Tarun Tyagi

Chapter 3

Logical Approach to Disks and OS

The hard disk can not run its hardware it self and needs two basic software to run its operations, the BIOS (Basic Input Output System) and The DOS (or Operating System). The disk operating system does not directly talk to the hardware of computer and hard disk but it needs the BIOS in between. That is why the BIOS has taken an important role in the computer.

BIOS

The basic job of BIOS is to provide a standard interface between the hardware or the devices connected to the computer and the DOS. The system BIOS is the lowest-level interface between the hardware of your system and the software that runs on it. It has several significant roles that it plays in the control of access to hard disks such as

  • BIOS Interrupt Routines
  • Hard Disk Detection and Configuration
  • Hard Disk Interface Mode Support
Data recovery books

Data recovery books

Data Recovery Book Data recovery books
BPB Publications,
New Delhi, India.
ISBN : 81-7656-922-4
Price : $ 69.00



To ensure the interoperability of various hardware and software products, the BIOS of the system is tailored to the needs of its hardware, and provides a standard way of letting software addressing the hardware. These are called BIOS services and are used by many operating system and application programs. They provide a uniform interface to the hard disk, so applications need not to know how to talk to each type of hard disk individually.

Standard IDE/ATA hard disks are configured in the BIOS using various BIOS settings. Modern BIOS programs can detect modern IDE/ATA disks to determine these parameters and automatically configure them. The BIOS controls which types of interface modes can be used with the hard disk, working with the system chipset on the motherboard and the system I/O bus.

The INT 13H Interface and INT 13H Extensions

The primary interface to the BIOS has been the software interrupt 13H which is generally known as INT 13H , where INT stands for interrupt and 13H is the number 19 in hexadecimal notation.

We shall learn and discuss the use of interrupts in programming in detail in the programming phase of this book. The Int13H interface supports many different commands that can be given to the BIOS, which then passes them on to the hard disk. The interrupt 13H include most of the tasks we need to perform with the disk such as reading, writing, formatting etc.

The use and work with Int13H requires the invoking program to know the specific parameters of the hard disk, and provide exact head, cylinder and sector addressing to the routines to allow disk access.

The BIOS uses the geometry for the hard disk as it is set up in the BIOS setup program. The Int13H interface allocates 24 bits for the specification of the geometry of the drive, broken up as follows:

  • 10 bits for the cylinder number, or a total of 1,024 cylinders.
  • 8 bits for the head number, or a total of 256 heads.
  • 6 bits for the sector number, or a total of 63 sectors.


Thus the maximum possible number of sectors in the disk can be

= 1024 * 256 * 63
= 16515072

As we see here that the INT 13H interface can support disks containing up to 16515072 sectors with 512 bytes per sector. Thus the maximum disk size may be,

= 16515072 * 512
= 8455716864 Bytes
~ 8.456 GB

Thus the INT 13H interface can support the disk size approximately up to 8.456 GB (or 7.875 GiB).

Today most of the computer users use the hard disks which is much bigger in capacity then 8 GB that is why, the INT 13H interface has finally come to the end of its usefulness in modern computer systems and has been replaced with a newer interface called INT 13H extensions however INT 13H still may be used by DOS and some other older operating systems, and for other compatibility purposes.

Int 13H Extensions

It is really an interesting story that when INT 13H interface was developed, nobody ever expect to get the 8 GB size in hard disk. However today we may feel an 8 GB hard disk much smaller in capacity, even for home user's personal computer.

The older standard has an important limitation that it uses 24 bits of addressing information and as such can only handle drives that contain up to 16515072 sectors with 512 bytes per sector that yields a maximum capacity of 8.456 GB (or 7.875 GiB).

Thus the problem was to widen the access path from 24 bits to something larger but it was not possible to expand the existing INT13H BIOS interface because if we try to do this a lot of older hardware and software would stop working. And practically, there is no hope to get the respectable place in computer world with a lot of older hardware and software not working with your development.

Therefore a new interface was developed to replace Int13H. These routines are called Int13H extensions . This new interface uses 64 bits instead of 24 bits for addressing and allows a maximum hard drive size of 9.4 * 10 21 bytes that is 9.4 trillion gigabytes .

We shall learn the use of both, the INT 13H and INT 13H extensions in the programming section of this book. There are a number of other size limitations that took place in the earlier days. Some of the popular logical and physical limits have been described below:

The 2.1 GB limit

This size limit was observed in some older BIOSes which only allocate 12 bits for the field in CMOS RAM that gives the number of cylinders. Therefore this number may be at most 111111111111B (Maximum possible 12-Bit Binary Number) which is equivalent to 4095. In this way the maximum disk size with 16 heads, which can be accessed, will be:

= 4095 * 16 * 63 * 512 Bytes
= 2113413120 Bytes are accessible.

The 33.8 GB limit

This hard disk size barrier was noticed in early 1999. Large disks report 16 heads, 63 sectors/track and 16383 cylinders. Many BIOSes compute an actual number of cylinders by dividing the total capacity by 16*63.

For disks larger than 33.8 GB this leads to a number of cylinders larger than 65535. In this particular case, some versions of Award BIOS cannot handle drives that have more than 65,535 cylinders. Now the BIOS crashes or hangs. Since hard disk parameters usually use 16 heads and 63 sectors, this works out to a capacity of about 33.8 GB or 31.5 GiB before trouble occurs.

The solution is to upgrade the BIOS or one can use a jumper to make the disk appear smaller.

 

page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20


page 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35

Next page

 

Chapter 2

 
Previous page

page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22

 

© Copyright 2002-2005 DataDoctor.Biz

Benefits of online data recovery | Pen Drive Memory Stick Data Recovery Software | Memory Card Data Recovery Software | iPod Data Recovery Software | Digital Camera Data Recovery Software | Removable Media Data Recovery Software | Site Submission Services | Windows Data Recovery Software | FAT Data Recovery Software | NTFS Data Recovery Software | Data Recovery Training | Data Recovery Services | Data Recovery Education Material | Data Recovery Book | Custom Software Development | Offshore Software Development | Microsoft .NET Development | Java / J2EE Development | Wireless / Mobile Application Development | Database Solutions | Website Design | Website Development | Website Promotion | Mobile Website Design | Website Testing | Graphic Design | Data Recovery company India | Data Recovery Canada | Data Recovery United States | Data Recovery United Kingdom | Website Designer Canada | Website Designer United States | Website Designer United Kingdom | Website Designer Outsourcing

Home | Contact us | Downloads | Services | Terms and conditions | Site map

Website Data Recovery | recuperación de Datos | Récupération de données | Datenrettung | Recupero dati | データ復旧 | 데이터 복구 | 数据恢复 | Восстановление данных | De terugwinning van gegevens | Ανάκτηση δεδομένων
Sitemap Site map1 2 3 4 | Spanish1 2 3 | French1 2 3 | German1 2 3 | Italian1 2 3 | Portuguese1 2 3 | Japanese1 2 3 | Korean1 2 3 | Chinese1 2 3 | Russian1 2 3 | Dutch1 2 3 | Greek1 2 3
Data Recovery Book English | Spanish | French | German | Italian | Portuguese | Japanese | Korean | Chinese | Russian | Dutch | Greek